On Monday, November 02, 2008, I spoke with one of the counselors at my work to figure out what I wanted to be when I “grew up.” I told her what my education goals were (get a Ph.D. in Psychology and a Master’s in Education), and she asked me which kind of teacher I wanted to be. I told her that I didn’t want to teach high school because of the kids’ attitudes and she told me that once I get my AA degrees, I would have to take quite a few classes in Education before I could transfer because Elementary and Middle School teachers have to teach all different subjects, but if I decided to be a high school teacher, then I would only need one class because I would only teach one subject. That’s when I told the counselor that my main objective was to counsel troubled kids in school.

She then suggested that I get my Social Works or Psychology BA degree and that once I get my Master’s degree, I could become a counselor at a college also. She said that I would only need three classes before I could transfer instead of the zillion classes I would need if I wanted to become an Elementary or Middle School teacher. She gave me a list of the classes I needed for the Elementary School Teaching Credentials and suggested I checked the website for other Majors I could be interested in, which I did.

So on Wednesday, November 05, 2008, I signed up for what I hope to be my last class before getting my AA degrees. I signed up for English 4, which is the last requirement for my AA degrees – YAY!!!, and I also signed up for Sociology 1, which meets the Criminal Justice Administration, Sociology Services, and Teaching majors.

I figured once I get my AA degrees, I will take the Math 42 – Statistics class and Biology 10 – Introduction to Biology with lab. The Math class meets the Sociology, Criminal Justice, or Psychology requirements. And, the Biology class meets the Psychology and Elementary Teaching requirements. Then I will transfer for my BA degrees in Psychology and whatever I figure out the second major to be. Sounds confusing? Sorry, but I am still a little confused.

