Tonight marked my last night teaching my catechism class.  Atfer a whole year teaching 8-year olds about God without having any previous teaching experience, I welcome the break in a way because I was doing a lot of things during that year.

I will have to admit that I did grow fond of the kids I taught during that year.  Yvonna, the shy little girl.  Shannen, the girl with the pretty blue eyes.  Raenelli, the very smart and grown-up girl.  Ryan, my trouble-maker and joker.  Emilio, the quiet one.  And Raul, the one who always wanted to read.  These were the kids I had the pleasure of knowing for that year on Thursday nights.  These kids taught me patience and understanding.  They helped me see how each kid is different and what I needed to do to adjust to them.

We spent the night having a little party and when it was time for us to leave, they were asking me if I was going to teach fourth grade catechism because they wanted to have me as their teacher again.  That was really good to hear.

I don’t know if I will be able to teach next year since my classes will be on the night the catechism class was held at.  Maybe, I won’t be able to help the first four months, but who knows, maybe after January I will be able to.

