OMG!  I am so excited about the MotoGP weekend.

At first, I wasn’t too excited because Valentino Rossi broke his leg in early June and the talk was that he would not be able to return until August or September.  I had gotten my first two-day pass since I’ve been attending, so I was naturally bummed.  Heidi tried to tell me to have a good weekend despite of it, but I couldn’t.  He was the only reason why I was going.

But, in true Rossi fashion, he returned in mid July and said he would be there at Laguna Seca (his second race back since he broke his leg).  So, now the excitement was full force.

Saturday was a fun and tiring day.  We got there a little after 8:30 a.m. and my first stop is the paddock, of course.  Rossi got there a little after 9:00 a.m., but could not get him to autograph my ticket.  I knew he would return a little before the second practice, so I smarten up and took out my “Official Fan Club Valentino Rossi” baseball cap, and stood right next to the barricade in front of the garage entrance.  Well, when he came out and started signing autographs, guess what he signed?  Yep!  He signed my baseball cap.

So, then it was time for me to take pictures of the practice and qualifying with trying to get more autographs in between.  After the qualifying in the afternoon, I went to get my photo taken on what else but his bike.  See…

Me sitting on Rossi's bike.

Me sitting on Rossi’s bike.

Then, we went to the hotel, which was a dump!

Sunday, was another great day and a couple of more failed attempts at getting his autograph.  At least I got one.  I thought he would come in fourth, but at the 27th lap (with five more to go), he pulled into third, which meant a podium finish and a final paddock photo session by me.  This time, I was able to rush the track with the other fans and was able to take photos of him in front of the podium.  Take a look here…

Rushing the track

Rushing the track

Rossi finished third after breaking his leg four weeks earlier, and he is still moving around on crutches

Rossi finished third after breaking his leg four weeks earlier, and he is still moving around on crutches

Rossi raising his 3rd place trophy

Rossi raising his 3rd place trophy

Celebration time!

Celebration time!

This was the best MotoGP weekend I have ever had.  I gotta thank Heidi for coming with me and bringing me the best luck.  Can’t wait to do it again next year.  Now, over 2100 photos to go through.

