Nick and I's reunion

Nick and I’s reunion

A few months ago, my brother Nick (he is the son of my dad and my stepmom Miryam) asked me where I lived, so I told him in the San Francisco area.  He asked me how close that was to Santa Clara and I told him it is about 50 minutes away, so he said he was going to be here in November and he wanted to spend some time with us.  I was so excited because the last time I saw my brother Nick was in 1989-1990 when he was about 2.5 years old, and back then it was the first time I met him since he was not born when my brother Netzher and I left Peru to come to the United States in 1986.

I finally saw my brother Nick after almost 24 years.  When my brother Netzher and I left Peru in 1986, the only other sibling he and I had was my sister Ursula.  She was my dad’s and stepmom Miryam’s child and she was born in 1982.  Obviously, we all spent some time together and had that siblings thing going, but Nick was not in the picture.  When we returned to Peru in 1989-1990, we met my brother Nick, who was born in 1987.  He was still little when we left and we had lost touch with my dad’s side of the family for many years.  Thanks to the Internet (Facebook in particular), I reestablished contact with my dad and that side of the family.

A few months ago, my brother Nick told me he was going to be in the San Francisco bay area to visit his cousin Adriana.  I was excited because I had not seen him since, well, 1987.  He and I got to spend about three days together before he had to go back to Peru.  We went to see the Winchester Mystery House, spend some time with the kids (he met his niece and nephew for the first time) at my house, took him shooting at an indoor range, visited Alcatraz in San Francisco, and took him to see his first National Hockey League (NHL) game where we saw the San Jose Sharks beat the Tampa Bay Lightning 5 to 1.

I hope that next time, he can visit a little longer so we can travel to see my brother and Tyler.

Here is a video showing some photos of our short visit:

