Tonight, I went to the Sharks Fan Appreciation Night, aka Last Home Game of the Regular Season.  I promised my friend Angela that I would take her son, Alex, to a game this season and I finally was able to do it.  Of course, I took my children and Lea along.  The best seats I was able to get were on Section 123, Row 16, seats 8-12.  I wanted to get ones on the first row, BUT Ticketmaster wanted me to buy only even number of seats (four or six and there are five of us).  It would have cost me an additional $500.00 and I am not wealthy (yet!).

It was cool going to the last home game because the Sharks had souvenirs for all the fans.  It was a Logan Couture bobble head.

Bjgu4E2CQAArU8U

I took a picture of Alex so he could have something good to remember, and I posted it on Facebook and tagged Angela on it for her to see.

The game was awesome!  It started with the announcement earlier in the day that Tomas Hertl would return after a four-month absence due to a knee injury suffered when the Sharks were playing against the LA Kings at the Honda Center in Los Angeles, California.  Kings Captain Dustin Brown had a knee-to-knee collision with Hertl, which many believe was intentional.  Hertl’s play was as if he had not missed four months.  He started on the third line with James Sheppard.  He came close to scoring twice.

Dan Boyle scored the first goal for the Sharks in the first period.  It was followed by a goal from Patrick Marleau.  In the second period, Patrick Bordeleau with the Avalanche scored a goal giving the Sharks a one-goal lead.  In the third period, Marty Havlat scored three unanswered goals, a natural hat trick.  What a beauty!  It was my kids, Lea’s, and my second live hat trick, and Alex’s first live hat trick.  The final score was Sharks 5 – Avalanche 1.

At the end of the game, some lucky fans got jerseys from each of the players and got their photos taken with them.

Joe Pavelski got the Brocade “Sharks Player of the Year” Award.  The award is given to the player contributing most to the success of the Sharks in the 2013-14 regular season. He was also recognized with the Ram Trucks “Sharks Fan Favorite” Award.  The Ram Trucks “Sharks Fan Favorite Award” is determined by fan voting at sjsharks.com. Nearly 11,000 votes were submitted during the eligible period.

Joe Thornton was recognized with the PlayStation “Sharks Three Stars of the Game” Award.  The winner is tabulated by the number of times a player is named a “star” of the game. At the end of each regular season game, players received five points for being chosen first star, three points for second star and one point for third star as listed on the official NHL game sheet. Each star is chosen by members of the media based on the player’s performance each game.

Finally, Tomas Hertl and Matt Nieto were both recognized with the PlayStation “Rookies of the Year” award in a vote by Bay Area media.  It is only the second time in the history of the franchise that two or more players have shared the award in a given year.

The Sharks are going to the playoffs, but I don’t know if I will be able to make it.  Until next season, I will look at the photos and videos of the games I attended this season.

