Robin WilliamsI was shocked to find out on Monday, August 11, 2014 that one of my favorite comedians and one of the greatest actors on earth, Robin Williams died at the age of 63 of suicide at his home in Tiburon, California.

Why was I shocked?  Because Robin seemed so happy all the time, and I find it hard to believe that someone who appeared to be so happy on the outside felt so much pain, depressed, and sad on the inside.

At the same time, I should not be shocked because someone I knew extremely well hid his pain then committed suicide a few years earlier.  Robin’s death completely brought back memories of when my friend Stew died in December of 2010.  Stew seemed happy even though he was having some serious personal problems.  He was one of those persons who you thought would never do something like this.

There are times I struggle to understand the how and why, but at the same time, I understand that some times the pain people feel inside is too strong.

Dead Poets Society (1989): Robin WilliamsO’ Captain! My Captain!” (Dead Poets Society) You will be sorely missed, but you leave a legacy that millions of people will see.  You will continue to make people laugh or cry through your amazing movies.

Here is a photo compilation (not in chronological order) of my favorite Robin Williams’ movies: Awakenings (1990), Nine Months (1995), Good Will Hunting (1997), Good Morning Vietnam (1987), Dead Poets Society (1989), Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), The Bird Cage (1996), Happy Feet (2006), and Aladdin (1992).photo

